The coat of arms room was built in the 17th century and was last remodelled in 1752. Originally, it served as an anteroom to the judges' chamber of the Hofmark and thus had a clear function: it was intended to attune those who waited here for their judgement to the authority of the court. Almost 200 coats of arms adorn the walls from floor to ceiling - including the symbols of ruling houses, ecclesiastical dignitaries, cardinals, prince-bishops and even the emperor. The dense sequence of coats of arms is like a visual chronogram of the political and ecclesiastical power relations of the time.
In addition to real coats of arms, the room also contains deliberately invented heraldic symbols. These fictitious coats of arms lend the Coat of Arms Room an exotic, almost cosmopolitan feel and emphasise the claim to internationality and significance. In its extravagant design, the room is exemplary of representative Baroque palace architecture.
Today, the Coat of Arms Room opens a living gateway to history and allows visitors to experience Hofhegnenberg Castle as a place of law, rule and cultural self-confidence.